Woolmark Prize Finalists Announced

Award season.

Earlier this week, the Australian Fashion Laureate (won this year by Zimmermann) was expanded to include additional categories of womenswear (Dion Lee), menswear (Arthur Galan), emerging (Christopher Esber) and retailer (Scanlan & Theodore). Now comes the announcement that in its third year, the International Woolmark Prize will award both menswear and womenswear honours, with both receiving winners receiving the full $100,000 in financial contribution towards their next collection as well retail support by Harvey Nichols, Joyce, Saks Fifth Avenue, Colette, 10 Corso Como, MyTheresa and David Jones. The division of the categories is important in that being a smaller or less visible market in the broader fashion industry, it's difficult for menswear designers to get a run in these awards. Herewith, the Australian nominees:


Garth Cook
Karla Spetic
Michael Lo Sordo
Phoenix Keating
Tristan Melle


From Britten
Song for the Mute

The designers will be required to present sketches for the regional final in July, with the panel of judges soon to be announced, and then the global menswear representatives will convene at London Collections: Men in January, with the women's designers shortly after in Beijing. Best of luck to everyone nominated.

Image: Christopher Esber's 2014 look, via EVH PR.